Wait Two Seconds – The Weather Will Change. Welcome to Virginia, Y’all.

Whoa – those clouds look scary. Better head back to the house…

dark1

 

Wait. What?

light1

I promise that I took those photos within seconds of each other- with the same camera settings.  My belly is getting larger so it takes longer to do a 180 these days, but not THAT long.

Ominous looking towards the road… clear and bright towards my house. Weird.

 

I had a lot of fun outside yesterday afternoon. I had more fun when the children came home and started racing their go-cart through mud puddles, but taking photos of the sky, the clouds, the sun streaming through the trees… that was pretty fun too. A quieter kind of fun.

woods1

 

Here’s the view from our lane. I like how the trees make everything dark but you can see that beautiful blue sky back there. I really bumped up the saturation on this one… maybe too much but sometimes I like different effects. And it doesn’t hurt to try, right?

house1

 

I used my (free!) editing program, Photoscape and applied the film effect Portra to this shot of the outhouse (I used Photoscape on all of these – Photoshop is not CottonWife-friendly).

You know, I’ve never been brave enough to open that door – and I’m the nosiest person in the world. I’m also a coward. This really inhibits my nosiness sometimes. I hate that.

outhouse4

 

This one is unedited. I don’t really think it needs anything else, do you? The barn is dark but that’s because those large clouds were blocking the sun – I could have brightened this photo, I suppose but it wouldn’t be natural.

IMG_2719

 

I only added some vignetting to this one. And maybe some saturation – I can’t remember. I just sort of click around sometimes and can’t remember what I’ve done. That’s helpful editing advice isn’t it… “Oh, just click around and see what you get… never mind you’ll never be able to duplicate it!”. I don’t think anyone would pay for that advice.

barn1

11 Comments

Filed under Farm Things

11 responses to “Wait Two Seconds – The Weather Will Change. Welcome to Virginia, Y’all.

  1. cheesychick

    Beautiful photos…again.
    I can’t believe you have never looked in that outhouse?! You’re kidding, right? Oh, for Betsy’s sake, get your girls, have them hold your hand and peek inside. There might be some really cool “old” things in there. Or there just might be a story for a post in there.
    You are funny, Jennifer. Heaven help us, you are funny.

  2. thecottonwife

    Okay, the funny (or rather, SHAMEFUL) thing is that one time we thought there was a ghost upstairs – a helium balloon was flying back and forth and then went up the stairs – and we sent the girls upstairs to investigate. Notice I used the word “WE”. It wasn’t just me who was cowardly!

    – Jennifer

  3. That is totally the weather here in Kansas too. Really annoying sometimes, but sometimes nice too.

    I love the photo of the lane going to the house. How did you get it to be tall and skinny? I like the last shot too of the red shed.

  4. thecottonwife

    Hey Jemm! I took that shot by turning the camera vertically but then cropping out about half the photo.

    – Jennifer

  5. klutzymama

    Oh look at your pretty house! I love it and those pictures are great!

  6. kat

    Great pictures! I would LOVE to have a lane that long to walk. I really miss country livin’. Maybe one day I’ll be able to get a big old house and a long lane (they’re not too good when you’re trying to catch the bus and you’re late!) Go ahead and get one of CH’s friends to open that outhouse – give them a challenge or a bribe with some of your cookin’. I know a few of them and it probably wouldn’t take much!!

  7. Oh how I love moody weather. You captured it beautifully.

  8. I love your photography! I love your subjects! I’m feeling very lovey today!

  9. thecottonwife

    Thanks everyone – I really did have bunches of fun capturing all the different “looks” of the sky. And my inside bathroom (haha) is situated between two closet doors that stay closed (with GOOD reason!) – I think I’m going to print the outhouse photo and hang on the bathroom door so guests will know which door to open. 🙂 No more closet avalanches on poor unsuspecting guests!

    – Jennifer

  10. Beautiful pics. Love the pic of your house at the end of the lane. And putting a pic of the outhouse on the bathroom door is a brilliant idea. I am not nosey enough to wanna look in an old outhouse!!! Eeew!

  11. These pics are great! I’m sure if you opened the outhouse door all you’d find is an old Sears Catalogue with several pages missing. At least that’s what used to be in the outhouse at my country cousins house!

    I think you’re idea of framing that pic for your bathroom door is great!

    Hope you are feeling fine as well as getting bigger, any pics????

Leave a comment